fbpx CHERLOC | ESITC Caen Skip to main content

CHERLOC

bandeau financeurs

2020 - 2022: National project to propose maritime protection works to limit the impact of flooding on French coastlines.

The world's coastal landscapes are in constant transformation through the construction of infrastructures (dikes, jetties, ports...) to meet the growing demands of economic, residential and tourist activities. The natural coastal environment is fragmented by human constructions that encroach on the ecological habitats of intertidal and subtidal areas. This character is particularly marked on the coasts of the English Channel where the tidal range is high. Until recently, the response to a marine submersion event was approached from a pure engineering angle with the construction of new infrastructure in response. Over the last ten years or so, a paradigm shift has been taking place by integrating nature and society into the technical approach to coastal projects. The main objective of the CHERLOC project is to create and study two pilot sites in the Région Normandie by integrating two types of artificial blocks to existing dikes (Cherbourg, Ouistreham) through approaches of social acceptability, biodiversity and coastal engineering.

CHERLOC: a project combining social acceptability, biodiversity and coastal engineering

The aim of this study is to better understand the behavioral, social and psychosocial reactions to the proposal of protection blocks for the coastal sites of the Region; to be able to provide elements to cope with the risks of submersion without falling into the bias of resistance to change. It is also a question of giving enlightened information on the situations in question, and to have a representation and prognosis regarding the management of these populations in the presence of these coastal risks.

The partners

This multidisciplinary project involves a regional maritime works company (MARC SA), a design and research office (ARTELIA), an engineering school (ESITC Caen), three research laboratories of the University of Caen Normandy which is the project leader (CERREV, BOREA, M2C) and Ports de Normandie.

bandeau partenaires

The acquired knowledge will mainly concern the research organizations, the maritime engineering, the maritime works companies and the contracting authorities in charge of the realization of the coastal defenses by maritime works.

Financial support

The CHERLOC project receives 50% financial support from the Normandy Region (ERDF funds) and the European Union.

Sign up to the newsletter

By filling this form you're aggreeing to receive regularly contents from ESITC by e-mail and to become acquainted with our privacy policy

Aller au contenu principal

CHERLOC

bandeau financeurs

2020 - 2022 : Projet national visant à proposer des ouvrages maritimes de protection pour limiter l'impact des submersions sur les littoraux français.

Les paysages côtiers mondiaux sont en constante transformation par la construction d’infrastructures (digues, jetées, ports…) afin de répondre à des demandes croissantes d’activités économiques, résidentielles, touristiques. L’environnement naturel côtier est morcelé par les constructions humaines qui empiètent sur les habitats écologiques des zones intertidales et subtidales. Ce caractère est particulièrement marqué sur les côtes de la Manche pour lesquelles le marnage est élevé. Encore récemment, la réponse à un événement de submersion marine était abordée sous un angle d’ingénierie pure avec en réponse la construction d’une nouvelle infrastructure. Depuis une dizaine d’années, un changement de paradigme voit le jour en intégrant la nature et la société dans l’approche technique des projets côtiers. L’objectif principal du projet CHERLOC est de créer et d’étudier deux sites pilotes en région Normandie en intégrant deux types de blocs artificiels à des digues existantes (Cherbourg, Ouistreham) à travers des approches d’acceptabilité sociale, de biodiversité et d’ingénierie côtière.

CHERLOC : un projet alliant acceptabilité sociale, biodiversité  et ingénierie côtière

Le souhait de cette étude est de mieux cerner les réactions comportementales, sociales et psychosociales devant la proposition de blocs de protection des sites littoraux de la Région ; de pouvoir donner des éléments pour faire face aux risques de submersion sans tomber dans les biais de résistance au changement. Il s’agit aussi de donner des informations éclairées sur les situations en question, et d’avoir une représentation et un pronostic face à la gestion de ces populations en présence de ces risques côtiers.

Les partenaires

Ce projet multidisciplinaire implique une entreprise régionale de travaux maritime (MARC SA), un bureau d’étude et de recherche (ARTELIA), une école d’ingénieurs (ESITC Caen), trois laboratoires de recherche de l’Université de Caen qui est porteur du projet (CERREV, BOREA, M2C) et Ports de Normandie.

bandeau partenaires

Les connaissances acquises concerneront principalement les organismes de recherches, les ingénieries maritimes, les entreprises de travaux maritimes et les maîtres d’ouvrage en charge de la réalisation des défenses côtières par des ouvrages maritimes.

Les financeurs

Le projet CHERLOC bénéficie d'un soutien financier à hauteur de 50% par la Région Normandie (fonds FEDER) et l'Union Européenne.

S'inscrire à la newsletter

En renseignant vos nom, prénom et adresse email, vous acceptez de recevoir régulièrement des contenus de l’ESITC par courrier électronique et vous prenez connaissance de notre Politique de confidentialité.